Chichen Itza

As much as I love beaches, pools, and the promise of a week of margaritas and lounging, I think I was most excited about Chichen Itza.

I’ve never been out of the country before and haven’t ventured far within it, so I’ve never really seen much in the way of landmarks. Plus US landmarks don’t have a history as dense as Mayan ruins.

Martinez from the car service picked us up bright and early in the morning. Naturally, those of us in the smaller bedroom had been up late laughing at silly drawings Erio made, but more on that later. That night is one of the few deserving of a recap. But we got up like champs and set out for a long day, as Chichen Itza was a good two to two-and-a-half hours from our hotel.

We skipped Tulum with the intention of going back, but it never happened. That’s my one frustration, really–I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who wanted to go, but even if I was, the others were, for the most part, given the “we’ll do whatever you want” treatment. I felt that I wasn’t. In fact, the week was split for me between wishing Paul was there, having a good time, and being irritated with people’s actions or behavior. The problem is I was starting to get irritated before the trip, and spending a week with a group where half of its members were getting on my nerves didn’t help at all. But I digress.

Martinez suggested we save Tulum for the end of the day since it was the closest to the resort, but we ran out of time and energy.

When I’m not driving or annoyed or hungry or something, I enjoy long car rides, and this was a good one. Plus I love gazing out windows, and what better place to gaze than Mexico? I was fascinated by the simplest things just because I was in another country, but I was also fascinated by how, away from town and the resorts, things degenerated and looked beat down or housed stray dogs.

Chichen Itza itself was wonderful and yet a typical tourist trap. It’s a little disorganized and confusing. You have to pay twice–once for the government and again for the site itself–and there are vendors everywhere. Unfortunately, we didn’t know this and couldn’t spend all our pesos, which I deeply regret because that shit was dirt cheap and awesome. The vendors were super willing to haggle and super easy to haggle with.

The ruins themselves were amazing. The grounds were much bigger than I was expected, but everything was fascinating to see. I wish we could’ve climbed the pyramid, but that’s not permitted anymore after one too many deaths.

We stopped for lunch next, where I did get irritated again when someone–most likely Nolan–decided we were ready to leave without warning while I was still eating. I feel ignored 99% of the time anymore. Like I don’t matter to half of my own friends. There ya go. Digressing again. Obviously sometime in the future I predict I post about deep shit.

The cenote Ik Kil was next, and that place was gorgeous. I was too scared to jump, as I always am, but I did get in. It was refreshing but scary but fascinating all at once to be in a natural pool of water with fish that’s quite deep and cold. It was tiring, too, as the frown upon holding the vines and roots on the side of the cave, so it’s swimming the whole time, and I’m too little to just float.

And with that, we called it a day. Those two things took all day, and we were exhausted. And probably downed some margaritas back in the room.

2 thoughts on “Chichen Itza

  1. Pingback: Cave Rappelling! |

Leave a Reply

