Final State College

I got one last visit to State College in before graduation–one last weekend I could spend there with Paul, since the trip for graduation included his whole family (and he has five siblings). Except not really because the guy taking his room had already moved in thanks to pesky ending leases.

I did my usual drive up right after work, get Paul’s keys from him at work, hang out at the apartment until I had to pick him up from work. I tried to keep the visit a surprise. My original plan was to do a full surprise for his birthday, as in show up completely unannounced, but I ended up having to move the weekend of his birthday. With new roommate, Ugo, moving in, I had to do some actual coordinating to make sure he (and current roommate Ryun) were okay with me visiting, especially since Paul’s stuff, including his bed, was in the middle of the living room. All of it.

By the way, Ugo is a rapper. I like him–both musically and as a person. I didn’t talk to him much and he is a walking State College stereotype, but he’s cool. He came home in the middle of the night drunk, ate some cereal, woke up late for work the following afternoon, and left wearing sunglasses still inside on what was likely an overcast day. I overheard him reciting Kanye: “Sunglasses and Advil/Last night was mad real.”

Like the rest of my weekends the past few months, this one blurs together and, aside from dealing with sleeping in the middle of the living room, having zero privacy, and Ugo, was unremarkable. I was nearly broke from having just moved, so outings were minimal. We went back to the Waffle Shop and tried some awesome little fast-food Japanese place we discovered because I really, really wanted some cucumber rolls and miso soup. Lately, we’ve just kind of been hanging out, and I like that. It’s kind of like when we were first dating and he was saving his money for the semester and I was freelancing, so neither of us had spending money–we almost ever went out and stuck mostly at someone’s house watching movies or even just talking, and it was nice. We learned from the start not to base everything around food or spending money, one of the advantages being then when we finally could go out, it was like, “Oh, my God, we’re on a date!” We’re reaching that stage again.

Then I got to go home and get ready for his graduation and vacation, plus a little sideshow where the shit with Brett hit the fan, which shall (unfortunately) likely be a tale in many parts. A lot happened, a lot was said, and I have a lot to say about it. Not to mention that unless something else comes up, whenever I finish talking about it is the end of talking about it. I need to sit down and write about it to sort my head out and deal, but after that, in the words of Terra and Dom, NO MO.

Leave a Reply

