Top 5 on Friday: Rediscovery

Top 5 songs you’ve rediscovered recently

 1. “Disease Tobacco Free” by Margot and the Nuclear So and So’s I was on a big Margot kick when this album first came out, and this song was one of my favorites. I love the rhythm and grittiness. I was/am in the habit of streaming new music on Spotify, so when new albums pushed it off the “What’s New” page, I lost track–until it coincidentally popped up today.
2. “Thrash Unreal” by Against Me! Okay, so, I never really listened to Against Me! until lead Laura Jane Grace announced plans to live as a woman. My punk-listening friends were all talking about it (including some real insensitivity from, most unfortunately, a member of Pittsburgh favorite Punchline). Some of it was shit like, “How selfish!” Super short version of my thoughts on that: selfish is asking someone to live in a way they do not wish to because that’ll sell records or won’t upset the people around them. Selfish is not doing something that you genuinely need to do for yourself. Anyway, a lot of people kept talking about and wondering if this would impact Grace’s voice, so I was like, “Okay, I have to hear this voice that’s so iconic.” And then I did and lost track of it. I like too much music (or not enough). Laura Jane Grace is beautiful, by the way.
3. “Let the Drummer Kick That” by Citizen Cope Thank you, shuffle, for reminding me that this song has a great beat and is one of Citizen Cope’s best.
4. “Chicago” by Sufjan Stevens Again, thank you, shuffle.
5. “One Sweet Day” by Mariah Carey That’s right, bitches. I remember this song was a big deal at some point in my childhood, and then The Essential Mariah Carey was released and I went on a binge on all those ’90s jams I’d been missing. By that I mean this and, like, “Heartbreaker.” Never did like much Mariah Carey.
Leave a Reply

