Top 5 on Friday: Melt

Top 5 songs that melt your heart

 1. “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen Actually, literally any version of “Hallelujah” ever. I have yet to hear one I dislike. Now, I’m sure one exists–I just haven’t heard it. And I am partial to Rufus Wainwright’s version. The song itself is just gorgeous with fantastic lines.
2. “Home” by Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeroes It’s fun but sweet at the same time, and every hopeless romantic is a sucker for the line “Home is wherever I’m with you.”
3. “Us” by Regina Spektor I’m pretty sure this has more to do with that killer piano melody it opens with, but it’s just such a cute song that has the feel of a timeless love story.
4. “Sigh No More” by Mumford & Sons This is one of those songs that makes me feel so much, I can barely stand it. It starts of slow and pretty with the acoustics Mumford have become well-known and beloved for, and then the song kind of turns on itself and becomes this fast, folk beast. The clincher? “Love /It will not betray you/Dismay or enslave you/It will set you free/Be more like the man you were made to be.” Which is the best, but the following lines help, too: “There is a design/An alignment to cry/Of my heart to see/The beauty of  love as it was made to be.” Hello, future wedding song.
5. “Working My Way Back to You” by Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons If you follow me on Twitter, you already know I’m going through a serious Frankie Valli thing right now, which is a little weird since I saw Jersey Boys way back in September. The intensity is just hitting me  now that I borrowed Brandon’s cast recording AND Frankie Valli’s greatest hits. This is a great “I screwed up, but please take me back!” song. And even though it sounds like Frankie, at least early on, was a pretty terrible partner, I’d take him back after this song.
Leave a Reply

