Friday Five: Themeless

  1. You know those delicatessens that name sandwiches after famous people? What would be the ingredients of the sandwich named after you? I couldn’t have it be just a generic, boring veggie sandwich. Maybe some sort of portobello mushroom beast, or something with eggs, green peppers, lettuce, tomato, and mayonnaise.
  2. What’s your favorite part of staying in a hotel? Being in a generally unfamiliar place that’s usually really pretty.
  3. What was the last book you read, and how was it? Okay, I can’t remember what the last one I finished was, so instead I’ll give you a rundown of what I’m reading now. All nine. Boneshaker by Jan Beatty is nice, saucy modern poetry. Beatty’s not afraid to say anything or touch any subject. She’s basically a badass, and I adore her. American Rust by Philipp Meyer is (mostly) set in my home county and is the tale of two teenagers and their involvement in the death of a homeless man. I’m not fond of the writing style and am starting to lose interest–it’s starting to drag and feel boring. Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim by David Sedaris is typical Sedaris humor that still manages excellent endings and things that hit hard. Basically, it’s everything I want to be as an essayist/memoirist. The Giver by Lois Lowry is a young-adult classic I never read, and a former coworker gave it to me just before she left the job. It’s a fascinating sci-fi twist on utopia and people’s ideas of utopia. I’m excited to see where it goes. Stardust by Neil Gaiman is a delightful, sweet little fantasy that only he could tell. I’m excited to see where this goes, too. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende is on loan from Paul and is basically a bookworm’s wet dream. Also excited to see where it goes. Tell No One by Harlan Coben is a thriller about a man’s dead wife maybe not really being dead. It’s interesting and I have no idea where this is going, either, but the plotting is too chaotic–the book jumps from viewpoint to viewpoint, and it’s done so too many times between too many people and is starting to get distracting and confusing, plus it’s mostly unnecessary. As a thriller, sticking to one viewpoint, perhaps even two, would be far more effective. Plus it was throwing around racial stereotypes (black, drug-dealing men who drive cars with tinted music and play loud rap music and know how to evade police and speak in jive/ebonics) didn’t sit well with me. We’ll se what the final verdict is. The Red Badge of Courage and Other Stories by Stephen Crane isn’t really my style, both writing-wise and subject-wise. I’ll be glad to finish it and pass it back off to my dad. Fountainhead by Ayn Rand is among the books I’ve hated most. It’s boring, poorly written, and doesn’t have a single likable character, and not in the forgivable, necessary sense. And finally, Great Expectations by Charles Dickens…and Dickens is God. The End.
  4. What’s something super-unhealthy you’ve recently eaten? An ice-cream sandwich. And the macaroni and cheese I just ate had a whole stick of butter in it.
  5. What do you do with all those Christmas cards with photos of friends and their kids? I’m young and newly established enough that I don’t get these–my mom does. So right now, nothing. In the future, unless they’re awesome cards, I’ll recycle the cards and probably hang on to the pictures until I can’t conceivably keep them anymore.
Leave a Reply

