Friday Five: Country

Top 5 Country songs

This should be easy, since I probably only like about five country songs anyway. In no particular order…

1. “Like My Dog” by Billy Currington This song teeters between lyrical trash and genius. It’s a ridiculous song, but it’s funny, and I feel like most dog lovers/owners can relate at some point in their relationships. Or, conversely, that we’d love our significant others like we love our dogs. As for the musical composition, it is well-done with signature country twang that’s kind of bittersweet. Music’s job is to entertain, and that’s what “Like My Dog” does.

2. “Forever and Ever, Amen” by Randy Travis Unlike “Like My Dog,” which I like in the silly sense, I legitimately love “Forever and Ever, Amen.” Those who know me, especially those familiar with my usual musical favorites, are probably surprised by this. Hell, I don’t think my own boyfriend is aware I think this song is gorgeous. It’s a very sweet love song with a great melody, and the country twang is pretty subtle, which makes it easily accessible for a girl typically not into country.

3. “I Walk the Line” by Johnny Cash Johnny Cash might be the only country artist I think I could call myself a true fan of because seriously, who doesn’t enjoy Johnny Cash? Everyone likes at least one Johnny Cash song, including people who don’t like country or claim not to like any Johnny Cash songs (they just haven’t found the one yet). It’s wonderfully simple, and like “Forever and Ever, Amen,” it’s a gorgeous love song–and a classic one at that.

4. “Ring of Fire” by Johnny Cash Originally, “If I Die Young” by The Band Perry was gonna be here, and then I remembered that this song is infinitely better. Bonus points for bringing back memories of the cover on Tony Hawk’s Underground. As I get older, I appreciate this song more and more.

5. “Wagon Wheel” by Old Crow Medicine Show I can’t remember the first time I heard this song, but I remember being quite taken by it–which is a pretty common reaction to it. Terra and I both love it. It was a Sherwood’s staple that we loved to belt along to, back in happier times. Suavity’s Mouthpiece once covered it at UPG. There’s something truly beautiful about it that’s quite bittersweet–the strings are melancholy, but it’s all so pretty that it’s not actually sad.

Leave a Reply

