Top 5 on Friday: Better

Top 5 songs that make it all better

1. “Sigh No More” by Mumford and Sons Just because it’s so epic but beautiful at the same time, with some excellent lines to help it out. But we’ve discussed this before.
2. “Dreams” by The Cranberries Okay, this is a total cheesy ’90s answer, but really, it is a fun, pretty song. It’s so upbeat that it makes me happy, sometimes more than I was before I heard it. Bonus points for a sunny day, car ride, or both.
3. “Better” by Regina Spektor I thought of this song when I saw this week’s topic, and I thought, “Nah, that’s not really one of my pick-me-up songs.” And then it happened to come on shuffle as I was looking for songs to put on this list and I realized it actually is. It’s pretty, it’s upbeat, Regina’s voice is gorgeous, and there’s something about her singing, “If I kiss you where it’s sore/Will you feel better?” I will, Regina. I will. Did I just admit to mild sexual attraction to Regina Spektor? Basically.
4. “Forever and Ever, Amen” by Randy Travis Anyone who knows me is probably confused as shit right now–unless they’ve been with me when this song has been played, which is almost never–because the list of country music I like is very short, but I adore this song. It’s just really pretty, and it has enough twang to draw me in yet not put me off. And it’s a legitimate sweet love song. In fact, most of these songs are, so if I ever go through a bitter breakup, I might have to completely redo this list. I say “might” because I don’t reach levels of bitter that ruin entire songs for me.
5. “Second Hand News” by Fleetwood Mac Honestly, we should probably do a whole post about what was essentially a Fleetwood Mac epiphany. The short version: I was raised on Fleetwood Mac (and Prince, for the record). I grew up knowing who Stevie Nicks is. My mom was always a fan of greatest-hits compilations–and maybe that’s why I don’t and have a compulsive need to collect entire discographies–so I know a lot of words to a lot of songs I don’t like all that much. And so because my mom have very different ideas of what Fleetwood Mac’s greatest songs are, she played a lot that I wasn’t crazy about, so I never had any interest to listen further. Then Spotify and my curiosity happened, and now here we are with a concert ticket stub and a three-disk Rumours rerelease. I love this song in particular for its pep and attitude, though the recorded version is tame and almost boring comparing to hear it live. Almost.
Leave a Reply

