Friday Five: At the Movies

1. Where in the theater do you like to sit when you’re at the movies? Generally, I don’t have a real preference, but I guess if I had to pick it would be somewhere in the middle so I’m not ridiculously close but my chances of my view being ruined by someone taller than me are lessened. Unless it’s one of the fancy theaters with rows of ascending seats rather than all one level–then I kind of like the back. Makes me feel tucked away and a little more free.

2. What characteristics does the ideal movie companion have? Still–which I am not–and attentive. Quiet, too, commenting only when appropriate. Really, Paul is my ideal movie companion. Aww. But really, he doesn’t talk too much and doesn’t fidget like I do, and he and I are so alike when it comes to movie viewing that our comments to each other work really well. Either we sit and shut up and point out little things that we notice to each other or, such as with Prometheus, we’re disappointed and annoyed at the predictability and complain. I should’ve counted how many times one of us leaned over and said, “Saw that coming.”

3. What memory do you have of things not going quite as usual at the movies? I remember seeing The Fast and the Furious one summer, I think as part of one of Meri’s birthday parties. We were preteens in the theater by ourselves, so we talked loud, switched seats, and one friend, Sarah, but not the Sarah I’m currently friends with, threw candy everywhere, which was a dick move. Come to think of it, I’ve had a fair number of friends who did a fair number of dick moves. I also went to see Corpse Bride and some asses were playing with a laser pointer on the screen and throwing ice behind them to hit people. Someone once complained about our group being too loud when we were laughing during a Scary Movie. Then there’s the couple times I went with Meri to little employees-only screenings when she worked at the local theater–The Dark Night and the third Mummy. The Dark Night was obviously amazing, but at some point The Mummy went awry and got made fun of the whole time. I think it went awry with Rachel Wysz leaving the cast. And then there’s the time someone dropped a bag of weed at the drive-in and we took it. So basically I have more unusual movie experiences than I do normal ones.

4. What are your feelings about commercials and movie previews playing before the film you’re there to see? I like them. I like to see what new movies are coming out and get excited. And occasionally nervous, annoyed, and critical, but mostly excited.

5. Who is an actor or director whose involvement in a film is enough to make you want to see it? I actually have kind of a long list of people I like, but I’ll go with some of the recent ones. Guillermo del Toro is one just because of how good Pan’s Labyrinth was, so that helped Paul’s cause when he wanted to go see Pacific Rim, which I did enjoy but didn’t love. However, I’m told if you’re really into robots and monsters, it’s a perfect film. I also recently got more interested in the upcoming Elysium after I heard the District 9 dudes are behind it, including star Sharlto Copley, and I loved that movie. I will also always watch anything with Gillian Anderson or Ewan McGregor and anything either Joss Whedon or JJ Abrams touch. Which means basically nerd involvement gets me more interested. And if I don’t see Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing soon, bad things will happen.

As always, from The Friday Five.

Leave a Reply

