Booking Through Thursday: Detective Qualities

  1. Do you enjoy reading mysteries? If they’re well done, but I find lots have cheap twists.
  2. What’s your favorite kind of mystery? I kind of like thrillers, but like I said, cheap twists designed to make it seem like the writer is smarter than the reader.
  3. Do you like plenty of blood and guts, or do you prefer the details to be left to the reader’s imagination? Either one. Honestly, I think this depends on the writer–if they can pull off gore, fine, if they’re better at few details, fine. But I’m a very visual person, so the more detailed the description, the worse the picture in my head gets.
  4. Do you prefer mystery stories based in the author’s time or in previous centuries? No preference.
  5. Do you prefer mysteries based in your own country, or in distant lands? No preference.
  6. Do you like to figure out the solution, or do you allow yourself to be carried away with the story? I tend to just like stories carry me. If I find something really compelling, then I will think more about it and try to figure it out.
Leave a Reply

