Friday Five: Nature

  1. When did you most recently feel like a salmon swimming upstream? This week at work–mandatory overtime, which obviously gets tiring, and long, somewhat difficult projects and lots of research.
  2. When did you most recently feel like a sheep following the herd? I’m not sure. It’s been awhile.
  3. When did you most recently feel like a dog whose bark is worse than its bite? Probably the last time I encountered Paul’s mom, last weekend, because she puts up such a nice-person front that when she ultimately does say something rude, I almost want to let it slide but I know that’s exactly why things with her got so messy.
  4. When did you most recently feel like the cat whom curiosity killed? When Meri tweeted about Googling “island of the dolls,” which if course I had to do and which of course is just as terrifying as it sounds.
  5. When did you last keep the hours of a night owl? Last weekend–and even last night, for my lifestyle. Working at 7 a.m. means to get eight hours of sleep, I should be in bed by 9:30 every night. That almost never happens, but if I’m up around 11, even on a weekend, like I was last night, that’s pretty late for me. I don’t know how I’ve functioned the times I’ve gone out to bars past midnight. One night, I was out so late that Paul and I both were closing in on 24 straight hours awake.
Leave a Reply

