Booking Through Thursday: Favorite

Do you have a favorite book? What do you say when people ask you? (This question always flummoxes me because how can you pick just one, so I’m eager to hear what you folks have to say.)

And, has your favorite book changed over the years?

I have a notoriously hard time picking a favorite anything, so I generally have a few go-to writers as opposed to books. Plus I have such a huge reading list that there’s not much I’ve devoured multiple times, and for me, a favorite is something that is amazing every time, and I can’t really make that call if I haven’t done it.

So my favorite writers would be David Sedaris, Augusten Burroughs, Charles Dickens, J. K. Rowling, Anne Rice, and Rob Sheffield. As a bonus, the poet William Carlos Williams.

There are a few stand-out books that I’ve only read once or it’s the only thing I’ve read by that writer so far, and that would mostly be Tess of the D’Urbervilles.

Leave a Reply

