Booking Through Thursday: Format

All other things being equal, what is your favorite format for reading? Hardcover? Paperback? New book? Old book? Leather-bound first edition? E-book?

My only real preference is for a physical book of some kind–I’m not a fan of e-books personally because I don’t trust technology to not break or malfunction, plus I like having shelves packed with books. I did used to be kind of a non-e-book purist, but there really are plenty of good things about e-books and there’s not good reason to go rejecting technology just for the sake of doing so.

I have a slight preference for paperbacks, since they’re smaller and easier to handle, but I’m not the type to wait for a book to be released in that format before I buy it. I do appreciate a good hardcover for their durability.

Which brings me to another slight preference for a new book, but even then it’s more like a book that hasn’t been beaten to hell or written in.

 

Leave a Reply

