Booking Through Thursday: Mystery

Do you read mystery novels? If so, why? Is it the mysteries themselves that appeal to you? The puzzle-solving? The murders? Or why don’t you read them? What about them doesn’t appeal?

Generally, I don’t. I used to have a book when I was little where you had to solve the mystery that I really liked, though. Most recently, I read mystery/thriller Tell No One by Harlan Coben, and I was disappointed with it. It had some of those genre cliches that make me leery of mystery books, like useless plot twists that seemed like their sole purpose was to keep tricking the reader yet still have a really convenient way to explain what happened. Some readers might find that fun, but I found it cheap and lazy. I want things to make sense and be realistic, and the plotting of this was just way too convenient.

Now, all that said, Paul’s on a Lawrence Block kick–I bought him two of Block’s books for his birthday–and is particularly into his Matthew Scudder series, which does sound like something I’d enjoy. I also have Gone Girl on my shelf/reading list, although I’m not sure whether or not that’s actually a mystery. I just know the movie looks really good, so I’m all about reading the book. Not that I’ll ever have time to read it first, of course.

Leave a Reply

