Friday Five: Old and Grumpy

As always, from Friday Five.

1. What’s something you have a grumpy old person’s attitude about? To a certain extent, technology. While I have no problem with mp3 players and e-readers or the people who use them, I’m clinging to my books and CDs. I like a tangible product as opposed to trusting technology with all my shit.

2. What is evidence of your not being a completely grumpy old person? I guess the fact that I’m a mere 25, for one, and my general disposition most of the time. I get angry and fired up about certain things, sure–especially on this blog–but that’s not my permanent state of being. I’m usually quite content.
3. What’s something in your wardrobe that might qualify as old people’s attire? Probably some sweaters and definitely some of my floral-print skirts.
4. When during the week do you tend to be your grumpiest? Probably at the beginning of the week because I’m sad to see the weekend go. Unless you catch me on overtime, with a difficult show, or in a situation where there’s been poor communication and inconsistent feedback.
5. Who in your family is most often in a bad mood, and who’s most often in a good mood? My parents might be tied for bad mood–my mom’s always stressed and/or depressed because of her job. My dad, meanwhile, gets his information about the world almost exclusively from Fox News, and while I think that’s not an honest, reputable station, I also think they’ve got a bit of a paranoid, end-of-days attitude in a lot of their programming that just can’t lead to happy,  calm viewers. I once bet him if he went a week without watching Fox, he’d probably be a happier person. Unsurprisingly, he didn’t take me up on that. As for good mood, I’d say I’m probably the winner there. But my mom, for all her stress and angst toward my dad, is quite pleasant and fun to be around outside of work.

One thought on “Friday Five: Old and Grumpy

Leave a Reply

