Friday Five: Wisdom

  1. Some people say you should never mix business with friendship. What experience have you had that would either refute or confirm this wisdom? None either way, actually, though I’m in the planning stages of writing a comic book with an acquaintance. Which might work out better than if we were already friends. Actually, now that I think of it, I have had some writing-related issues, mainly in that because I write and edit for a music site, I have friends who want me to write about their friends’/significant others’/their own bands. Thing is I have no problem with someone passing something along, but my frustration came in when close friends only expressed interest in my writing when it benefitted them to do so. On the other hand, Meri used to buy a copy of the newspaper every time I had an article in.
  2. Some people say you should never let ‘em see you sweat. What experience have you had that would either refute or confirm this wisdom? I can’t think of anything either way!
  3. It is often said that you should never put off ’til tomorrow what you can do today. What experience have you had that would either refute or confirm this wisdom? My entire life confirms it because I’m a very experienced procrastinator. I’ve been doing it since early in school and while I actually juggle it pretty well–which is probably just because it’s my normal–I have had situations where I was getting down to the wire in getting stuff done or had a lot to do in a short span of time. I always make it happen, but it gets stressful.
  4. It is often said that you should never get romantically involved with someone at work (there’s a cruder way of putting it, but I’m declining to use that selection of words). What experience have you had that would either refute or confirm this wisdom? Again, nothing either way, but I have always said I wouldn’t want to creatively work with someone I was romantically involved with because I think it creates too much opportunity for conflict. People have strong opinions on their art, and it’s very easy to get two people with differing strong opinions who are trying to work together. Even as far as my day job goes, I don’t think I’d want to work at the same place as my boyfriend, at least not in the same department. People need their own time and their own things to do, and sharing a job with your significant other doesn’t make much room for that.
  5. What piece of wisdom from your own life should be a catchy proverb for others to live by? I can’t remember exactly how I worded it initially, but I once told Brandon something about how if you’re questioning a friendship, the mere act of questioning proves it’s a friendship not worth hanging on to and you should move on. I also once said something about not letting people get away with being assholes. Similarly, I’m also a fan of the time I said that parents have the ability to shape their tiny human children so that they don’t grow up to be assholes and they should use it. Basically, my Twitter is full of angsty wisdom.
Leave a Reply

