The Black Glove

I don’t usually fall in love with video games, but when I do, I fall hard.

Sure, I’ve enjoyed many a game of Call of Duty, but nothing has enraptured me like BioShock. Ha, see what I did there? Rapture. Ha ha.

Anyway, my brother had a GameFly subscription one summer, and I happened to be in the living room when he started playing BioShock. He was in a plane crash, swam to a lighthouse, went down into a bathysphere to an abandoned, underwater city, and was attacked by some freaky-ass thing the second he landed. And as I gazed up from whatever the hell I was doing–most likely the internet–I was like, “What the hell are you playing, and can I play?”

And that’s about as far as Brandon got in BioShock because I pretty much took over after that and spent most of my waking moments playing that gaming. I fucking loved it, and I devoured the sequel and the more spin-off-oriented BioShock Infinite. Sure, shooting shit is fun no matter the game, but BioShock had all these layers and elements that appealed to me, from the macabre to sci-fi, with an intricate plot to go with it. I have never loved a game like I love BioShock, and that includes hours of ignoring basic human body functions to play The Sims.

Any sort of dark, creepy-looking video game tends to catch my eye now, and that’s what happened on my Tumblr dash today. Something looked freaky and actually reminded me of the look of BioShock, and turns out it’s a freaky-ass game from some of the same team. And it has a Kickstarter. The phrase “shut up and take my money” has never been more accurate.

So, The Black Glove looks really cool and weird, and I wouldn’t be blogging about it if I wasn’t convinced this could be the next big thing to wreck my gaming life in the best possible way. And I’m not gonna lie, as much as I love Kickstarter and backing things and spreading the word and seeing people reach their goals, I also want to see this succeed for selfish reasons–I really want this game in my life to play and love forever. I want them to meet their goals not just because I like to see fellow humans succeed at cool things because I really want to play this game, guys.

Shut up and give them your money.

Leave a Reply

