The Art of Asking

So, Amanda Palmer has a book coming out tomorrow, and as is the trend these days, she has a little trailer to go with it. Now, as a fan of hers, I didn’t really bother to watch the trailer for a book I preordered a signed copy of months ago. And then it popped up on, like, my Tumblr dashboard or something the other day and all I had to do was click the play button, so I figured I might as well.

I should’ve known this would be no simple, straightforward book trailer.

But then I saw something familiar.

Months ago, Amanda Palmer was blogging about the book and was asking for input for things, and she asked what people wished they’d asked for. And that was my response–I saw a woman sitting on these stairs outside the post office when I was going to mail something, and she was crying. And I thought about stopping and asking her if she was okay, but I didn’t. And I obviously regretted it. And then forget all about it until now.

Pretty neat, though, and I’m glad that it’s at least made an impression on a lot of people. May we all have the courage to reach out to people who are hurting, even just to ask if they’re okay.

One thought on “The Art of Asking

  1. Pingback: Little Janelle

Leave a Reply

