Booking Through Thursday: Quantity

How much do you actually read? Few of us get as much time as we’d really LIKE for reading, but do as much as we can, so … how many books do you read? How many hours a day?

I’ve talked before about my multi-book habits, and I was just discussing this with a coworker–I get into a habit of reading multiple books at one time. Even when I manage to scale down to maybe two or three, I somehow end up adding to the stack. My grand total right now is 11, with one being an in-case-of-emergency travel book that stays in my purse (The House of Mirth) and two on loan–Phantastes by George MacDonald from Paul and The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks from Terra. The others are Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James,  The Portable James Joyce, The Hunchback of Notre-Dame by Victor Hugo, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie, Looking for Alaska by John Green, Animal Farm by George Orwell, Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler, and Dreamcatcher by Stephen King.

I don’t really set an amount of time to read or pay much attention to how long I read–I go more by sectioning off the books. I have a little routine I go through to juggle hobbies with responsibilities like IYS and other writing stuff, and basically, if I have time for it between when I get home from work and when I go to bed (or somewhere else in a weekend or day off), I’ll read. It normally ends up being in the evening which occasionally turns into past my bedtime, since I try to devote a little reading time to each book when I do sit down to read. Basically, I aim to do a chapter. In some cases where the book doesn’t have defined chapters but has maybe short stories or even breaks in the text, I stop there. Looking for Alaska is a good example of this, since it’s separated into days.

Leave a Reply

