Friday Five: All I Need Is a Miracle

  1. When has something miraculous or seemingly miraculous happened to you or someone you know? I think my favorite story along these lines belongs to my friend Leah’s grandfather. He’s blind, and the story goes that when he was in college, a fire broke out in his dorm. He was trying to make his way out of the building when someone found him and guided him out–I think they spoke, too, and the person grabbed his hand, but it’s been awhile since I’ve heard it so I’m not positive. At any rate, he got out safely and was greeted by his very relieved friends, who asked him how he got out. When he explained someone helped him, they told him he’d come out of the building alone. SPOOKY. Mr. Mac from high school had a similar eery story about picking up a hitchhiker who had a long heart to heart with Mr. Mac about his future, then disappeared when Mr. Mac let him out. Not to mention Mr. Mac has nearly been killed more than once but somehow always made it out relatively okay, compared to, you know, death.
  2. When were you last part of an amazing coincidence? The last big one I can think of is about a year and a half ago, when I first contacted my therapist. About two years ago, about this exact time of year, I was super depressed and suicidal, frankly, and decided to see a therapist, but I couldn’t find anyone near me who seemed good and took my insurance, which only upset me more. I came out of the depression a bit but some months later did decide to try a therapist hunt again, which is when I found my current one. I’m not sure how I didn’t find him before that, honestly, but it doesn’t matter much now. He seemed like a great fit for me, took my insurance, and had great reviews, and I mentioned it to Terra. And it just so happens that she of all the people in the area I could’ve picked as my shrink, I picked someone she knew–he’d worked at her middle school for a time, and she’d really liked him.
  3. What have you recently accomplished against magnificent odds? Getting paid–albeit literally pennies–to write. But it’s a start. I’ve got content that I’ve written out there on the internet that’s been seen and promoted, and I’ve gotten money for it.
  4. In what way this week has luck been in your favor? Hmm. I was just telling relatives how I’m not the lucky one in the family–Brandon is. The best I can think of is that after three years of trying, Paul, Brandon, Kelly, and I made it to The Nutcracker not just on time but well in advance this year, despite me being concerned we’d be late or miss it entirely again, but it was nearly perfect. I’ll talk about it later.
  5. What was the last outcome you consciously decided to leave up to chance? I can’t think of anything really recent, but I sort of approached dating this way. I wasn’t interested in anyone around me, and they very night I met Paul, I told Meri and Sarah at a bonfire over at Sarah’s house that I didn’t want to date my senior year of college, all the college guys were immature and not worth my time, and that I’d rather wait it our and meet an older man out in the workforce or something. And then Paul won me over and we’ve been together ever since–and that was almost four and a half years ago. We’re talking moving in together/marriage.
Leave a Reply

