Friday Five: Expected Student Learning Results

  1. In what way were you a concerned citizen this past week? You know, I don’t know that I’d call myself an activist because I’m not particularly active, but I have been concerned about the circumstances surrounding the death of Sandra Bland–as well as all deaths of people in police custody recently. I’m also concerned about what led a man to shoot up a movie theater, and I’m concerned about the people in his life who saw him becoming increasingly agitated and violent and either did nothing or were powerless. I’m concerned about a system in which he was able to get weapons, despite a violent history. And I’m concerned that every time we ignore shitty, radical people spouting off their shitty, radical beliefs that we’re silently letting them get away with it.
  2. In what way were you a clear communicator this past week? I like to think I always am. That said, I don’t do much communicating throughout the week–my job is pretty much solitary at a computer. But I’m a pretty clear communicator with Paul. That’s a good thing to have in a relationship.
  3. In what way were you an insightful learner this past week? I took an assessment test as part of a job opportunity, and it involved Microsoft Office, which I’m vaguely but not intimately familiar with. I did some Googling and playing around and even had my mom show me some things she knows in Excel, but the assessment ended up being more complicated than I expected (and than they led me to believe). But I was able to relatively quickly and easily figure out how to do what I needed to do. Wish I could say the same for the woman who came in at the same time and left after a few minutes.
  4. In what way were you an effective advocate this past week? I don’t know! I can’t think of anything. Except maybe when a cousin of my dad’s commented on a Facebook post about Caitlyn Jenner calling her “shim” and saying she didn’t deserve any award, to which I politely replied and said that was a very rude thing to say about another person and that attitude proves that it does indeed take courage to come out as transgender, even now.
  5. In what way were you a responsible risk-taker this past week? It was kind of a risk to tell my dad’s cousin she was rude, but hey. I feel like there’s also an element of risk in job-hunting. And submitting writing for publication.
Leave a Reply

