Maybe about a week and a half ago, my mom and I went to see Echo and the Bunnymen, which you can read all about in my review of the show for AXS, but suffice it to say we had a good time.

Lately, going to concerts with my mom, at least on a weeknight, means driving from work–which is closer to Pittsburgh, where the concerts are–for over an hour to my parents’ house, only to drive back out to the same area in one car with her. She prefers this because it means neither of us makes the drive alone, but I do wish she was more comfortable just meeting there. But whatever. It’s fine.

She got my dad to make us dinner, we at quickly, and we headed out. And then I took the next day, a Friday, off and spent the night at my parents’ house. I spent Friday doing my laundry for free, mostly, and then ran some errands–I got a much-needed oil change for my car and finally made it to a Verizon store to replace my smashed iPhone. Because I don’t give a shit about having the newest iPhone and would rather save myself some money, I got the oldest model they still sell that would still be a step up from my old phone. I had a 4S; I bought a 5S. Even though some people have worn out their own 5Ss and are upgrading to the newest model, the 5S is new and different enough to excite me. The case I ordered online hasn’t come yet, which makes me very nervous.

I was hoping/intending to spend more time at my apartment that Friday–we’ve been told we’ll probably be working mandatory overtime for the rest of the year, and even though I only average an extra hour a night, it’s surprising how much of that free time that hour kills. I haven’t read in weeks, and I was hoping to get to it that Friday, but that didn’t happen. Instead, I packed for a planned weekend trip to Gettysburg and killed a little time with leisure until Paul came home, and then we went out to dinner before we hit the road.

The drive was pretty uneventful. I was a little drunk for the first part of it thanks to our trip out, and we drove down through Maryland to avoid paying the ridiculous turnpike fees. It helps that driving through Maryland is also only 10 minutes longer.   The only thing we did was stop for gas.

For the record, and I know I’ve said this before, but to me, a good indicator of a couple’s compatibility is how well they travel together, especially driving long distances. We’re pretty excellent at it.

We got into Gettysburg around 10 or 11. My parents had left earlier in the day. It was the annual World War II weekend, and in the absence of Uncle Eric and Pap Pap, my dad talked my mom into going. Every year, they both say they’re going, and every year, neither can make it, yet my dad books hotel rooms for everyone anyway. The advantage this time was that it meant Paul and my dad had their own rooms and my mom and I shared one–she didn’t want to stay with my dad, who is a terrible roommate and travel companion, and of course they’re not comfortable with Paul and I being unwed and sharing a hotel room. Or at least my dad is. I’m not sure that my mom cares, what with us living together anyway and all. Regardless, I don’t push it. We can stand to sleep in separate rooms for a weekend.

My mom was pretty funny to room with, though, because she was reveling in not sharing the room with my dad. She loved having clean, dry towels, and I joked about not having to smell the Lysol he sprays everywhere when he first gets into a hotel room.

Since it was late when we got in, we pretty much got our room keys, carried our stuff in, and went to bed, parting ways for the night.

Leave a Reply

