Booking Through Thursday: Conversation 2

Do you have people you can talk to about books you’ve read? Share delight in plot twists, explore how much fun it was, or how badly written?

I do! Funnily enough, one of the very, very few things I miss about college is regularly reading and discussing books. But I am grateful to have people to talk to about books now.

The most infamous of book discussions in my life is probably every single one that had to do with Harry Potter with Meri and Sarah, but the best was easily Deathly Hallows. We went to the midnight book release, I dressed as Tonks, and we all basically read all night. Sarah called me at one point about Lupin and Tonks, and she called Meri basically screaming, thinking that Hagrid was dead. Then Meri was texting me and accidentally spoiled Fred’s death for me–she’d gotten ahead of me while I took a quick nap. And when we were all done, we met up at Meri’s house and talked about the whole damn thing.

These days, Paul and Terra are the ones I talk to the most about books, and poor Paul is on the receiving end of almost all of my fury when I read any 50 Shades. If you follow me on Twitter, you’ve seen it. He gets that in person. Often while I’m tweeting at the same time. Terra gets it, too, but fortunately, I also talk to them about mutual love for books–Paul and I have spent more than one dinnertime conversation solely talking about a single book–or give recommendations. And sometimes get them. I still have a small stack I’m borrowing from Terra. I’ve made it through one. And I talk to Paul’s sister Emily sometimes, too–Paul and I often send books her way and discuss them later. We did this most recently when I passed along Animal Farm. She’s got The Diamond Age right now.

I love being able to talk to people about books, no matter the book or person, whether it be mutual love, mutual hate, or a civil disagreement.

Leave a Reply

