Friday Five: Goings On

  1. What’s an issue you wish more people knew about? It’s been getting more attention lately, especially in certain circles, but veterans’ issues. Everyone heard about the trouble with the VA, but that was an ongoing problem that obviously vets already knew about. It’s not just long wait times–it’s the fact that lots of basic, unnecessary care gets denied, and my personal theory is that it gets denied in the hopes that the veterans will just accept it and get nothing rather than file an appeal, which tends to result in them getting what they deserve.
  2. When were you last outraged about something? I get kind of outraged about attitudes about guns. I get the arguments about the Constitution, but the fact that so many people seem to have the attitude that people getting shot at schools or movie theaters is a small price to pay for the right to own the guns is disgusting. There are ways to solve this problems that don’t involve outright bans, but gun nuts are unwilling to even consider them, and I’m outraged by that disregard for human life.
  3. When you were a kid, what was the first news story to make an impression on you? I can’t remember the first one I actually paid attention to and was invested in, but I think the first one that I can remember seeing as it happened was O.J. Simpson. A close second would be the Gulf War, but I remember less of that as an event and more about how I was a toddler and my dad used to tell me to “play Iraqi,” and I’d put my arms up like I was surrendering and he’d tickle me. I had no idea what putting my arms up actually meant, though, or even anything about the war or Iraqis. My dad just taught me that.
  4. What’s getting far too much media attention lately? Any celebrity, aside from actual newsworthy events. I’m talking media attention on what people are wearing or saying as opposed to their actual work.
  5. What’s a consumer product you’d recommend to others? I’m gonna go with my sugar scrub! I have really dry skin, so I started using sugar scrubs. I used the all-natural scrubs from Simple Sugars, a local company–which would be the Pittsburgh area, for those unfamiliar with me/this blog. I started with their face scrub–I’ve tried both cucumber and green tea but settled on strawberry as m favorite–and it’s been perfect. As a woman, breakouts still happen around my period, but my skin has been a lot clearer but more moisturized since I started using it. I had a big problem with makeup flaking on me, and their scrubs ended that. Of course, this means I also use their body and foot scrubs. The company prides itself on being so exfoliating and moisturizing that it encourages its users to go “no-lo,” meaning no lotion afterwards, but my skin’s a tad too dry yet for that. That said, though, my previously rough, bumpy skin has noticeable improved. It may not be quite as soft and smooth as those without dry skin, but it certainly looks and feels better and healthier. And with the weather getting colder and making dry skin worse, the scrubs feel great. My feet are especially improved in cold weather since using it, and that’s even only using it ever other day or so, mostly due to the fact that I try to keep my showers short in the morning before work. The only thing is they don’t have a scrub fine and gentle enough to use on lips, so I turn to Etsy for that–I get this orange and lemon scrub from seller Lippydudu.

As always, questions come from Friday 5.

Leave a Reply

