Booking Through Thursday: Thankful

What is it about reading that makes you most thankful?

Just having that as an option for entertainment. Sure, there are movies and TV shows, but reading has always been one of my favorite things to do. Few things are more reliable than a bound paper book you can use at just about any time. And for me, it’s not necessarily about escapism in the sense of wanting to get away from/forget reality as it is just enjoying myself for a bit.

I’m thankful for whatever time I get to read, even though it’s very limited lately. I’m thankful for the writers that have entertained me, moved me, and/or taught me something new. I’m thankful for the fact that I love of Harry Potter has turned into a supplementary writing income. I’m thankful for the connections I’ve made with people over books, whether it’s simply listening to a recommendation or bonding over a mutual love or digging deep into a book. I’m thankful that I have the money for books. I’m thankful that I have the space for books, even if I am currently using the word “space” very loosely and even if “space” currently means “an empty spot on the floor where I can stack books if need be.” I’m thankful that I have friends and value who love books and reading, too, including a grandmother who read to me when I was too young to even remember it now, a grandfather who encouraged the habit by giving us all a dollar for every book we completed, and parents who bought me books and took me to the library or the bookstore and understood that I loved it, rather than questioning it or thinking it was weird the way my boyfriend’s family did. I’m thankful that I have books and stories and writers that inspire me as a writer myself and give me something to not just learn from but strive for, too.

Leave a Reply

