Booking Through Thursday: Audiobooks

I’m guessing most of you like reading (or why would you be here), how do you feel about audio books?

For me, “reading” means using my eyes, not my ears. As much as I acknowledge their usefulness while doing chores or using your hands, I only ever use audiobooks for the rare long drive–listening, no matter how pleasant, is not READING, yet people persist in telling me they like to read and that audio books are their favorites. Am I the only one to feel that’s just not the same thing?

I agree that it’s not reading, but only strictly technically speaking. Because you’re still getting the experience of the words and the writing, just in a different medium. And one could argue that it’s slightly enhanced if the audiobook’s reader does different voices or accents. If you were to talk to someone about a book and you read it while they listened to it, you’d still be talking about the exact same content, as opposed to, say, a film adaptation where things change.

All that said, I’ve never actually listened to an audiobook!

Leave a Reply

