Booking Through Thursday: 2015 Favorites

What were your favorite books of 2015?
How many books did you read this year? Are you happy with the amount of reading you got done? Wish you’d had more time? (I know I always do!)

To do a recap, the books I finished in 2015 were:

  • Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  • Looking for Alaska by John Green
  • Out of the Silent Planet and Perelandra by C.S. Lewis
  • Pet Sematary by Stephen King
  • The Sins of the Fathers by Lawrence Block
  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo
  • The Portable James Joyce
  • Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James

Let’s just get this out of the way–I hated Fifty Shades. I know I say that every single time any book in that series comes up, but I really feel the need to keep saying it to make it really clear and make sure any newcomers to this blog know.

Parable of the Sower and Pet Sematary were both rereads.

My favorites, then, would be Jane Eyre, which I sort of just really got into, and both the C.S. Lewis books. I was really surprised by the subject matter, themes, and general direction of the series, and I loved it. Honorable mention goes to The Sins of the Fathers. I don’t know that I’d rank it as high as the others, but I did really enjoy it, and Lawrence Block is about the only crime/mystery I’ll read.

That makes for a total of 10 books, and I am not happy with the amount of reading I got done. My Goodreads goal for the year was actually 20 books, so I’m coming in with just half of that and haven’t finished a book in months. I blame this almost entirely on mandatory overtime at work. It may only be a few hours a week, but it ends up cutting into a lot of things. Tonight alone, I’ve gotten way further into my evening routine than I usually do, but I digress.

I’ll probably set the same goal for 2016, and with any luck, I’ll either have voluntary overtime only or a new job. Or I’ll just be writing full time, but that’s a stretch.

Leave a Reply

