Booking Through Thursday: Multiples

Do you own multiple copies of any books? Why? Is it the format? Size? Just because you love it?

I can only think of one book that I personally own two copies of, and that’s Tess of the D’Urbervilles. The reason is the original copy I had was an old one passed down to me from I think my mom, though it’s possible it came from a grandparent. But it was a pretty old paperback, and it only took one read of it to wear out the spine to the point that the thing kind of separated into two halves. So I bought a second, newer, more durable copy to hold up to rereads. The thing is I don’t know what to do with that dead copy. It’s too beat up to donate or sell, and I hate to just throw away a book. I’ve considered doing some sort of Pinterest craft with it, but I’d feel kind of weird making something cute out of a book that’s essentially about a rape and its aftermath.

Oh, I did just remember I have a second copy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows–one is a collectible illustrated version. I also used to have a lot of Bibles because when you go to Catholic school, they’re really popular gifts. I got one for just about every milestone in life, and come to think of it, I wouldn’t be surprised if I end up getting one as a wedding present. But a lady doesn’t need five Bibles, so I left them with my parens to find them new homes.

Actually, most of the doubles in this apartment are the result of my fiancé moving in with me–we each had copies of things like C.S. Lewis’ space trilogy and certain Neil Gaiman books. Initially, we held off on getting rid of the doubles. We joked they were a sort of “just in case we break up” holdover, but at this point, we’ve gotten engaged and have limited shelf space, so purging the doubles has to happen. We have boxes of books in our living room that we can’t put anywhere else, and our best shot at clearing out some of that space is clearing out some shelf space by getting rid of doubles. The next hurdle will be deciding which books to keep.

Leave a Reply

