Saturday 9: The Theme from Love Story

Saturday 9: The Theme from Love Story (1970)

In honor of Valentine’s Day. Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.
 

1) The very popular tagline for this movie is, “Love means never having to say you’re sorry.” Here’s your chance to rewrite it. “Love means _____________________.” Love means not being afraid to say you’re sorry.

2) The movie was famous for a montage of the lovers frolicking in the snow. Do you enjoy sledding, skating, skiing, snowball fights, snowmen, etc.? Or do you just want spring to hurry up and get here? I do not enjoy winter activities at all. I’m ready for spring the second it gets cold.

3) In the movie, Oliver asks his father for $5,000. The money is required for wife Jenny’s hospital treatment, but Oliver is too proud to tell his father why he needs it. Adjusted for inflation, $5,000 in 1970 is $30,000 today. How much would you be willing to lend a friend or family member without knowing the reason? Maybe a couple hundred. I don’t exactly have much to spare, although as long as it was someone I knew wasn’t using it for nefarious purposes, I’d do as much as I could. I like to think that when I’m a millionaire bestseller one day, I’ll make it rain on whoever needs it.

4) In the movie, Jenny is the daughter of a baker who owns a little shop in Cranston, Rhode Island. Think of the last baked goods you consumed. Were they home made? Did you buy them from a bakery, the grocery store, or a coffee shop, like Starbucks? I think the last thing I had was store-bought cookies, but my fiancé did bake a cake from a boxed mix last week.

5) In 1970, when the movie was first released, California’s First Lady Nancy Reagan said she liked it but was upset to hear Ali MacGraw’s character swear. What’s the curse word you use most often? (Feel free to spell it with *’s, in case Nancy Reagan stops by Sat. 9) Probably fuck. Shit’s a close second.

6) Now 75, Ali MacGraw has let her famous hair go gray. She says she’s glad to “look like a grown up.” Do you feel your age? Or older or younger than your years? I feel younger, but I think that’s just because I’m still young and inexperienced enough to feel like I’m not really an adult. But I am. Sometimes, though, when I consider that I’m out on my own when some of my peers still live at home, I feel older.

7) MacGraw and her Love Story co-star Ryan O’Neal are currently on tour in the play Love Letters, and they’re drawing big crowds of fans who remember them in their famous film. Tell us of another movie couple you felt had romantic chemistry. I’m gonna go with a TV show (well, and two movies) and say The X-Files because I’m introducing the series to my fiancé right now via Netflix. Although I don’t think they have the kind of chemistry that’s considered typical romance, and I’ve talked about this before with Paul, but I seem to really love fictional couples who aren’t necessarily lovey-dovey but are more of a really grounded team who you know love each other deeply, whether or not they show it overtly.

8) Red is the signature color of Valentine’s Day. Are you wearing red right now? Sort of–I’m still in my pajamas, which is an old nightgown of my grandma’s that’s red and green plaid. Funny thing is it has her first initial on it, “E,” and it’s getting a decent hole in the armpit, so I think on its next washing, I might have to part with it.

9) Because Valentine’s Day is such a big day for chocolate…would you prefer a large, solid milk chocolate heart or a small box of four assorted chocolates? Assorted chocolates. It’ll take me forever to make my way through a large hunk of chocolate, plus I like the variety of assortments.

4 thoughts on “Saturday 9: The Theme from Love Story

Leave a Reply

