Saturday 9: The Times of Your Life

Saturday 9: The Times of Your Life (1976)

Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) This song is all about memories. How far back can you remember? What’s your earliest memory? I think my earliest memory is when my brother was born, when I was almost but not quite 2 1/2.

2) The first line is “Good morning, yesterday.” What do you remember about yesterday morning? Hitting snooze, as usual, and being tired and glad that it was Friday but feeling like it had been a long week.

3) This song was originally a 60-second jingle, featured in a commercial for Kodak film. Do you ever use film? Or are all your pictures digital? They’re all digital now, but I used film in high school when disposable cameras hadn’t quite been nudged out by digital. I also took a photography class in high school, in which we used film and learned how to develop it.

4) Who took the most recent photo of you? I think it was a selfie. I took a series of them at Mardi Gras, when I wore just about every prop on our table.

5) This week’s featured artist, Paul Anka, was born in Canada and enjoyed appearing in a made-for-TV Perry Mason movie with fellow Canadian, Raymond Burr. Do you enjoy courtroom dramas? I do, but because my job involves watching a lot of TV, which means seeing a lot of the same genres over and over, they’ve gotten pretty old. Same with medical dramas. Too formulaic and predictable.

6) At 15, Anka won a supermarket contest by collecting the most Campbell soup can wrappers. The prize was a trip to New York. Do you enter contests and sweepstakes? Play the lottery? Just writing contests, and the occasional drawing for neat prizes like money or vacations when they come my way. I don’t play the lottery, but my mom does usually gift us with scratch-offs. And I come from a long line of gamblers, I just prefer doing my gambling at, like, the slots.

7) This year Paul Anka performed throughout Florida (Palm Beach, Fort Lauderdale, Orlando, Clearwater and Fort Myers). The Sunshine State is a popular vacation destination. Do you have a favorite spot in Florida? I’ve only ever been to Disney down there, so let’s go with that.

8) In 1976, the year this song was on the charts, an earthquake hit China. Have you ever experienced an earthquake? Technically, yes! A few years ago, there was one down I think in the D.C. area, and it was strong enough that it could be felt up here in southwestern Pennsylvania. I was still living at home at the time, so I was sitting on the love seat in the living room and felt a little rumble. Honestly, it was so minuscule that I thought someone had come in the garage and just slammed a door really hard down there, and when it was obvious that wasn’t the case, I started wondering if a nearby gas well might’ve exploded or something. Of course, I had Facebook up at the time, and as soon as I saw people in towns 45 minutes away posting about feeling a tremor, I realized it had been something else. Within a few minutes, probably, it was confirmed that it had been an earthquake. I’m the only one in my family who felt it.

9) Random question: Do you know CPR? I was once taught CPR, but I don’t know that I could confidently give it.

3 thoughts on “Saturday 9: The Times of Your Life

  1. I think we mentioned the same earthquake. It was centered just south of DC in Louisa, VA, and it caused some damage to monuments in the capitol.

Leave a Reply

