Friday Five: Therapy

  1. How is a therapeutic shower or bath different from a utilitarian shower or bath? I just took a therapeutic bath, so this is perfect–for me, they’re longer and utilitarian in their own way. I use bubble bath or bath bombs, I take my sweet time and soak. I really need to get my Bluetooth shower speaker charged and back in the tub, though.
  2. What are your therapy foods?  Do you have different kinds of therapy foods for different kinds of emotional situations? I’d say the closest thing I have to a therapy food is just something that’s quick to make for dinner after a long day of getting stuck working late, which usually ends up being pasta. The kind of food where I’m starving and cranky and don’t want to screw around with proper cooking.
  3. What physical activities are especially therapeutic? For me, yoga and walking. Yoga is probably more obvious, but I like walking because it makes me feel good all-around and gets me out in the sunshine.
  4. When seeking the company of others for therapy, is it better to talk about the issue that’s causing you stress, or to talk about anything else? A little bit of both–talk enough about the issue to get it off your chest, share it, maybe even get some advice or input or sympathy and then move on to other topics. Sometimes the best therapy is just good company.
  5. Sometimes therapy is about maintenance, not crisis.  What regular activities do you pursue for therapeutic maintenance? It’s not an activity, but I check in with a therapist on an as-needed basis. It’s a great way to deal with things that are stressing me out, or to sort of keep my mental health in check–one of the big things we work on is rational, healthy thinking, so if I catch myself slipping and, say, thinking things like everyone secretly hates me or something dumb and paranoid like that, I check in for a refresher course in how to get rational thought to beat out insecurities and low self-esteem. But as far as more activities go, I’d say writing is my big one, obviously, that I pursue specifically for therapeutic maintenance, especially if there’s something I’m dwelling on. I usually need to write about it to get it out of my head. And then there’s the usual other leisure pursuits, and even if I don’t use them for therapy specifically, the things that make you happy keep you relaxed and sane. So while I may not, say, turn to reading or Netflix for maintenance, doing those things regularly keeps me happy anyway.
Leave a Reply

