Friday 5: Into the Lens

  1. What was your first camera like? I believe it was a pretty basic film camera, but it was a pink Barbie camera. I also had one of those Izone cameras that gave you the tiny little polaroids, but I can’t remember which one came first. I would think it was the Barbie camera, because I feel like Izone was a thing when I was a little older.
  2. What kinds of accessories have you purchased for a camera? I don’t think I’ve purchased any. Not much you can do with Barbie and Izone, and my family never bought anything fancier than point-and-shoot digitals after a certain point. We did have my grandfather’s old camera that had a flash you could attach to it, but we didn’t buy that–it just got passed down after he died.
  3. When did you last shoot photos on film, and how many rolls of unshot film do you have in your house? Technically, just last summer when Brandon graduated from boot camp–my grandfather wanted pictures, and my dad figured the easiest way to get them for him would be just to take them with a disposable film camera. I snapped a few. Before that, it was probably in high school, so about 10 years ago now, when I was taking a photography class. And those were shot on that camera of my grandfather’s. I don’t think I have any unused rolls, but I do have a few undeveloped rolls from the end of the school year.
  4. Digital photography has all kinds of advantages over film photography, but what’s better about shooting on film and having to get it developed and printed? As part of that photography class, we actually learned how to develop the film, so that was one of the cool things about it. It has more of a sense of being a finished product you worked to achieve, especially when you can screw something up along the way and you’re not even sure how they’re gonna turn out. I remember when we’d get things like vacation pictures developed as a kid, there was a kind of sense of excitement around waiting to see what they’d look like and looking at them when they were done.
  5. How do you manage your digital photos? I kind of don’t. They go on my computer and I am trying to organize them at least by year/season/occasion, but I don’t exactly keep up with it.
One thought on “Friday 5: Into the Lens

  1. You got it in one, that SENSE OF EXCITEMENT while waiting for the picture to develop, or come the package arriving at the drug store, usually. :o)

Leave a Reply

