Saturday 9: You’re Beautiful

Saturday 9: You’re Beautiful (2005)
Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) The first line is of this song is, “My life is brilliant.” Using one word, describe your life. Evolving.

2)  This is about a chance encounter between strangers in a crowd,specifically the subway. What “crowded place” were you most recently in? I don’t think work counts as much of a crowd. Proper crowd would be Steel City Con.

3) Near the very end of this song, James Blunt sings, “It’s time to face the truth.” Do you believe you face things head on? Or do you tend to deny or put off the unpleasant? Some sort of middle ground–I’m honest with myself about how I feel about things, but I have a hard time addressing them with most people. My fiancé is a huge exception, strangely, where I was never afraid to bring something up or be honest about something, which I guess is a really good thing. And I am getting better with being up front about things when necessary, but it’s a work in progress.

4) James Blunt went to an all-boys school. Some educators recommend single-sex classrooms because they maintain girls just naturally approach subjects like math and science differently than boys do. Do you agree? I’d have to look at the studies to make a full decision because to be honest, especially with the issues with women in STEM fields, it sounds a little sexist. That said, I do thin there’s something to be said for differences between genders.

5) Blunt put his father in charge of his finances. Income taxes are top of mind for many of us this time of year. Do you do your own taxes? Or do you go to an accountant or tax preparation service? My mom does my taxes, but my mom is an accountant. Saying “my mom does my taxes” feels so juvenile, but she’s a CPA, so why not have her do my taxes? She does it for my aunts and uncles and cousins, too, but “my aunt does my taxes” doesn’t sound nearly as bad.

6)  In 2005, the year this song was a hit, the sitcom How I Met Your Motherwas also popular.  Do you know how your parents met? They met when they were both working in a Sears store, which is hilarious considering my mom has been a long-term Sears boycott.

7) 2005 is also the year Tom Cruise famously jumped on a sofa. Do you remember where he did this? Oprah!

8) 2005 was also the year YouTube really took off. What’s the last video you watched? There were two, both shown to me by Paul by Extra Credits. Both were about gaming. The first was about how to combat the problem of harassment in the community, the second was an open letter to EA about poor marketing decisions.

9) Random question … Which of these high profile jobs would you enjoy more: head of General Motors, CEO of Apple or president of the New York Yankees? CEO of Apple. It’s the most interesting to me.

Leave a Reply

