Saturday 9: Mama

Saturday 9: Mama (2015)

Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) Gamal Lewis got the nickname “LunchMoney” in 10th grade because of his round cheeks and because lunch was his favorite part of the school day. What do you recall about lunchtime in the school cafeteria? I went to a Montessori school for elementary school, and I’m not sure if this is a Montessori thing or if it was unique to my school and teachers, but we weren’t allowed to talk above a whisper at lunch. They had upperclassmen basically patrol the cafeteria, walking up and down the front of it, and they would call out the names of anyone talking too loud or acting up. If your name got called, it got written down on a chalkboard at the front of the room, and I think if you got called three times, you had to stay and help clean up the cafeteria. Which, by the way, was carpeted, and cleaning meant that we had to clean up any crumbs that got dropped. Which wasn’t too bad if you were one of the lucky ones who got a little manual sweeper, but if you didn’t, you had to get down on the floor and pick up crumbs by hand. Middle school and high school were less memorable–I bought my lunch a lot in middle school but never really bothered in high school and packed one instead. Conversation was also encouraged, and clean-up was left to janitors.

2) His father and uncle were members of the band Inner Circle. Their song “Bad Boys” was the theme to the reality show Cops. What reality show have you seen recently? I started singing this song in the car one day, by the way, and my fiancé rolled the windows up so no one could hear me. I worked for a closed-captioning company, so I usually see a good bit of reality TV, but I honestly don’t remember the most recent one I watched. The most recent ones I can remember are true-crime shows like Dateline, but I don’t really count that as “reality TV.”

3) In this song, Mr. Lewis sings that his mama taught him how to put on pajamas. What did you wear to bed last night? A sweatshirt from the prison where my dad used to work and a pair of shorts.

4) He claims he can’t ever lie to his mama because she’ll hear it in his voice. Are you a convincing liar? I very, very rarely lie, so my guess is I’m horrible at it, but no one’s really questioned me.

5) LunchMoney sings that his mama made him chicken soup when he was sick. Do you eat soup all year around, only during winter months, or just when you’re battling a cold? I’m willing to eat it year-round, but lately, it’s usually reserved for winter or when I’m sick.

6) The lyrics tell us that when her son was hungry, Mama reliably whipped something up. What’s the last food you prepared? Oatmeal.

7) He also sings that his mama always made sure he had a few dollars in his pocket. Let’s talk about you and money. Did you more recently lend or borrow it? I guess neither–I more recently spent it. I don’t really borrow or lend, although no one’s asked, either.

8) Mother’s Day is for grandmothers, too. Sam grew up calling her grandmother “Grandgran.” Did you have a nickname for your grandmother? Nope, just Grandma.

9) To celebrate Mother’s Day, Sam is giving away her own mother’s favorite candy: Hershey Bars. Would you prefer milk chocolate, dark chocolate, or milk chocolate with almonds? Milk chocolate.

5 thoughts on “Saturday 9: Mama

Leave a Reply

