Booking Through Thursday: Weeding

What do you do with books you weed out of your library? If you’re like me, you find this VERY hard to do, but you want your old books to have a good, happy life somewhere … so where do you send them? What do you do with them?

Honestly, I actually don’t have a hard time doing this because I keep anything I like and want to keep enjoying and get rid of things I don’t like. Usually, I read a book twice before I decide to get rid of it, unless I really, really hate it. This has only happened with Fountainhead by Ayn Rand and the 50 Shades series, though. I don’t think I can read any of those again.

I almost always sell them on eBay. I could always use the extra couple of bucks, and it gets them off to someone else who wants them. Occasionally, I donate them, and I’m currently trying to figure out what to do with a decimated copy of Tess of the D’Urbervilles. It started falling apart so I bought a new copy, but now I don’t know what to do with my original. It’s too beat up to sell or donate, and I hate to just throw it away.

Now, another interesting side to this is that my fiancé and I recently decided to get rid of our doubles, so as we’ve been coming across them, we’ve been setting aside books we both own copies of. Generally, we’ve been decided to keep the nicer copy–which usually means the one with the cooler cover art–and the doubles are probably gonna go off to his youngest sister.

I regard this as a bigger relationship milestone than getting engaged, by the way. When he first moved in, we agreed not to deal with the doubles initially…you know, just in case. But now the shelves are too crowded and we’re planning a wedding anyway, so the purging has begun.

Leave a Reply

