Friday 5: Drama

  1. What was the last stage play you saw? White Rabbit Red Rabbit, which I reviewed for PA Theatre Guide. If you ever find that someone’s performing it in your area, absolutely go.
  2. Which film genres do you like most, and which least? I’ve always loved horror, but the thing about being a horror fan is you’re almost always ending up disappointed, especially lately, because so few filmmakers actually make good horror movies. So it’s one I love and hate at the same time. I lean towards things that are a little more interesting or strange that way, so I’m also big on fantasy and sci-fi, but I’ll watched just about anything if it catches my eye. The only genre I really seem to dislike across the board with very rare exceptions is romantic comedies and Nicholas Sparks-type romances–you know, the ones that are super unrealistic and melodramatic and predictable. I’m more into older romances. Like, I’ll eat up all that sort of Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre shit.
  3. Why do some people seem always to have some kind of drama in their lives, while others apparently have very little? I think it’s a combination of factors. I know people who seem to thrive on it in the sense that they don’t know how to just live life calmly and happily–they have to have some kind of chaos. Other times, I think it’s people. I know for me personally, a bulk of any drama I’ve had has often involved the same people multiple times, and I’ve become more selective with who I spend my time with or how often I see certain people as a result, and when you’re dealing with, say, your future mother-in-law, that’s not always easy. So I think sometimes people get dragged into family things that are really, really hard to avoid. I also think it’s about how you deal with things. I’ve noticed that people with lots of drama tend to have a hard time dealing with problems and people with less have healthier coping mechanisms.
  4. One element of classic tragedy is the hero’s tragic flaw.  What’s yours? I asked my fiancé and he said my adherence to routine, which I say is what keeps me relatively productive. Personally, I think it’s stubbornness.
  5. What are some lines of a play’s or film’s dialogue you can recite from memory? Some of Polonius’ advice to Laertes from Hamlet, plus some lines from Romeo and Juliet. And my brain is full of random movie quotes that slip out whenever.
Leave a Reply

