My birthday was Tuesday!

The older I get, the more birthdays start to feel like just another day, though. I feel like this has more to do with the fact that I have a summer birthday, though, and never had to go to school or do anything on my birthday until I started working. But I still enjoy birthdays. Getting another year older doesn’t bother me or freak me out, even if this one was 27 and my dad said a few days before, “You’re gonna be 30 soon.” I think I’m still young. I think 27 isn’t a big deal.

I had to work, of course, but in the evening, we celebrated by going out to dinner. I considered trying someplace new, but I didn’t want to risk not liking a place on my birthday, so I went for the new-ish President’s Pub, a place I liked a lot the first time we went but that Paul’s not as big a fan of and never wants to go to. I was really hoping for some of their truffle mac ‘n’ cheese, but they changed their menu up a but since our last visit and their mac ‘n’ cheese is now of the lobster variety, which I’m sure is delicious, but, you know, I’m a vegetarian. I’m known for visiting a restaurant and getting the same thing every time, though, so it was a good excuse to try some of the other menu items that appealed to me. I went for their grilled cheese with gruyere and avocado, which was really good. Next time, unless the truffle mac ‘n’ cheese is back, I’ll try the veggie sandwich.

For dessert, I had the lemon-berry-mascarpone cake, which I also loved the last time. I also tried one of their summer cocktails–it was winter last time we were there–called the Jackie O. I can’t remember what was in it, but it was really, really good, and I’d go back there just to drink that. Which I easily can since it’s within walking distance.

Later in the evening, we had some frozen-custard cake from Rita’s, and Paul gifted me with some tee shirts he picked up in Altoona that I not-so-subtly hinted that I wanted. He wanted to get me more but ran out of time, so he paid for a dress I picked out on a quick trip up to the outlets Friday night.

And now we’re settling into a weekend where, finally, we have no plans, no commitments, and intend on enjoying the time at home.

Leave a Reply

