Saturday 9: Sara Smile

Saturday 9: Sara Smile (1976)

… Because Kwizgiver suggested Hall & Oates. Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) This was Hall & Oates’ first #1 hit. Can you name another of their popular songs? I’ll give you two of my favorites: “Rich Girl” and “You Make My Dreams Come True.”

2) Darryl Hall and Sara Allen were a couple for 30 years, and he wrote this at the beginning of their long relationship. That makes this a very public love letter. Are you good at writing love letters? Would you rather tell the person how you feel, face to face? Or do you let your actions speak louder than your words? I could write it well if I had to, and you’d think a writer would be all about flowery love letters, but it’s not my thing at all.  I’m more about verbally expressing feelings, and I think actions are even better than that. For me, romance is all about what you do, not what you say, and I’m not even talking about grand romantic gestures–even just little things to show you care.

3) In the song, Darryl and Sara are waiting for the sunrise. Did you see the sunrise this morning? Or did you sleep in? I slept in, so no, I didn’t see it.

4) Both Hall & Oates hail from the Philadelphia area. Hall is a native of suburban Pottstown, which was a stop on the Reading/Philadelphia rail line made famous in Monopoly. Do you like playing board games? I do, but I haven’t played one in a really long time! That might be something to keep in mind for when I get my shit together and the apartment is suitable for other humans.

5) John Oates grew up a few miles away from Pottstown in North Wales. Decades ago, North Wales’ biggest employer was a cigar factory. Do you like the smell of a cigar? I do, actually.

6) Daryl Hall now hosts a music show, Live from Daryl’s House, that you cam watch free online. Do you typically watch shows from your computer, pad, phone or TV set? Almost always streaming Netflix over the TV these days.

7) Hall & Oates are currently on tour. Are you seeing/have you seen a concert this summer? I saw Frankie Valli at the beginning of June, and I’ll be seeing Cheap Trick with Joan Jett and Heart this coming Thursday. That’s all I have tickets for this summer, but if I can squeeze in some more, I definitely will. I try to hit every good show I can.

8) Daryl and John have been friends for 50 years, even living together at the beginning of their careers when money was tight. Another successful duo of the rock era, Simon & Garfunkle, also met as teens but they forever seem to be feuding. What do you think makes for a lasting friendship/partnership? I think friendships are similar to romantic relationships in some ways, really, where the essentials to making it work are the same–trust, honesty, and communication, for example. I don’t think it’s necessary for both parties to have exactly the same interests or personalities, but I do think there’s something to be said for common ground, especially when it comes to personalities. Some people just don’t mesh well together.
9) Random question:  Are you quick to try new things? I don’t know that I’d use the word “quick,” but I am open to it. Sometimes it depends on my mood. I can be persuaded, though, and I’ll rarely refuse outright.
4 thoughts on “Saturday 9: Sara Smile

Leave a Reply

