In the days after Brandon’s wedding, Paul wasn’t feeling well. We both were kind of dismissive of it–he had a sore throat and had smoked a cigar at the wedding, so we both just kind of thought that because that’s something he doesn’t normally do, it irritated him. We were wrong. We discovered this when I got sick, too.

I started feeling congested near the end of my shift at work Wednesday and hoped that I could just sleep it off, but nope. I woke up in the middle of the night with a terrible sore throat.I still have this thing where I feel guilty for calling off work, but this was one of those times that it was just not happening, so I called, left a voicemail, and went right back to sleep after my alarm went off in the morning.

And then I slept for pretty much two days straight. I mean, sure, I was awake for parts of the day and did some other stuff, but for the most part, I slept. I started to feel back to normal and Saturday and we went out to the Chinese buffet, but aside from church and some errands, that was the extent of my weekend activities.

I’m still congested but did go back to work yesterday, where I finally found out just what I’ll get for my annual merit increase. I’m pretty pleased.

It’s also a short week–it’s already time for Duke’s annual road trip for his cataract checkup, so I took off Thursday and Friday. Kind of makes me feel bad that I ended up only working two days last week, but I did earn the days and they wouldn’t have wanted me there anyway. My lingering mild cough is probably raising enough eyebrows.

Leave a Reply

