Saturday 9: The Trolley Song

Saturday 9: The Trolley Song (1944)

… Because Stacey suggested Judy Garland. Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) In this movie clip, just about everyone (except Judy) is wearing a hat. Do you wear hats for fashion, for warmth or for both? Usually only for warmth.

2) This song is from Meet Me in St. Louis, which was a huge hit and the second highest grossing movie of 1944. When is the last time you watched a movie in the theater?  Last month, when I went with my parents to see The Secret Life of Pets.

3) The movie follows the Smith family as their hometown, St. Louis, to prepares to host the 1904 World’s Fair. What’s the biggest thing happening in your hometown? We have the Whiskey Rebellion Festival every July, so that’s already come and gone. The county fair, which is held just outside of town, is coming soon, if it hasn’t ended already.

4) This week’s featured artist, Judy Garland, is best known as Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz. That movie is shown so often that Sam thinks she may have seen it a dozen times. Is there a movie or holiday special you’ve seen over and over? So fun fact, The Wizard of Oz is one of my favorites–I discovered it before I was even two. So I’ve seen that probably more than any other movie.

5) Judy admitted to being perpetually tardy. Are you usually prompt? Or are you always running late? I’m always late, but I’m working on it. This means getting my fiancé on the same page. I joke that he subconsciously sabotages us being on time because his family is late for everything, and whenever we’re actually on time, he finds some way to stall us.

6) Judy’s first professional performance was a rendition of “Jingle Bells” when she was just two. How old were you when you entered your chosen profession? I’ve loved writing six I was a kid, but my first professional experience with it came in college, probably when I was 19 or 20. As for my official day job, I got that a few months after I graduated college, so I would’ve been 22. I’m 27 now.

7) Thinking of “Jingle Bells,” here’s a wintery question for a hot summer day: What’s your favorite carol? I don’t know that I can narrow down one favorite, which is a problem I have with a lot of things. But I’m a big fan of “O Come All Ye Faithful.” I love Christmas music in generally, really. I also love Christmas in general, especially for someone who’s not particularly religious.

8) Judy was a very demonstrative person. She enjoyed hugs and admitted that, when she nervous, she took emotional support from physically reaching out. Are you demonstrative? No, but my fiancé is. We’re mismatched in that way–he’s much bigger on physical affection than I am. In fact, I’d say he’s a lot like Judy.

9) She told Barbara Walters that people would be surprised to learn that she was a good cook and specialized in desserts. Do you have a sweet tooth? Very much so. I think it’s genetic.

5 thoughts on “Saturday 9: The Trolley Song

    1. No! The story goes that I caught it on TV and was totally engrossed in it. My mom thought the monkeys and witch would scare me so she was prepared to change the channel, but when I didn’t react, she let it go. I’ve also been a lifelong fan of horror movies, so…

Leave a Reply

