Saturday 9: It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World

Saturday 9: It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World (1966)

Since Labor Day was introduced to celebrate the American worker, we are highlighting the hardest working man in show business: James Brown. Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) Before he was able to support himself as a musician, James Brown shined shoes, boxed, picked peanuts and delivered groceries. He admitted he didn’t enjoy any of those jobs. What was your least favorite job? Dishwasher. I did it as a kid and got paid either under the table or by my dad who made it seem legit, which is kind of sweet if that’s the case, and it was gross, but it got me spending money.

2) What job have you enjoyed the most? Any of my writing jobs.

3) James loved performing and in the mid-60s, played 335-350 dates/year. Do you have time off this weekend? Or will you be working? The weekend has come and gone, but I had Monday off.

4) With that grueling schedule, James spent a lot of time on the road. Do you enjoy traveling and staying in hotels? Or are you a homebody who prefers to sleep in your own bed? A little of both. I like traveling and have fun doing it, but I’m always glad to get back to my own bed.

5) While Millennials are the largest generation in the workforce, millions of Baby Boomers are still part of American labor. Do you think it’s easy or hard for people of different generations to work together? Or don’t you think age matters? I’d say on the whole, it doesn’t matter–it’s all about personalities and how people handle things.

6) 72% of employers report that they give their employees sick days. Tell us about a time when you called in sick, but weren’t. I’ve actually never done this with work–I used to skip school on occasion if I needed a break, but I’ve never called in sick and not actually been sick. I feel guilty enough using sick days I’ve earned when I actually need them.

7) According to the 2010 Census, 5.9 million Americans regularly work from home. Is working from home something you have/you would enjoy? Or do you benefit from interaction with coworkers? I do a lot of writing from home, which is nice, and looking to the future and thinking about having kids in two or three years, it would be a definite perk to be able to work from home full-time. But I don’t mind going in every day. I have pretty cool coworkers, for the most part, and although it’s not a very social place, I enjoy talking to them when it happens.

8) 12% of workers report they prefer to report for work early — before 7:00 AM — so they can get more done. Are you a morning person? I mean, I have to be–my shift starts at 7. I like the quiet of early mornings and when I was prone to sleeping really late, like in high school and college, I always felt like I had so much more time in the day when I was up earlier. But the reality is if you left me to it, I’d become, like, nocturnal instead.

9) The NFL season starts on September 8. How do you think your team will do this year?   I don’t know. I don’t like football. Didn’t the Steelers only just barely make playoffs last year? I predict they won’t make it this year, and then the Pirates will end up making it, only adding to the theory that the city can only have two winning teams at a time. Let’s go Pens!

Leave a Reply

