Saturday 9: One Night in Bangkok

Saturday 9: One Night in Bangkok (1984)

Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) This song is from the play Chess. It’s been said that the most successful players are fluid in their thinking. Do you consider yourself flexible or set in your ways? I’m set in my ways in that I have routines I like sticking to, but I can be flexible.

2) Nigel Short, a real-life chess grandmaster, used to wear a t-shirt that said, “He who cares, wins.” Do you always play to win? Or do you play board/card games or sports for the fun of it? A little of both. I’m competitive so I always want to win regardless, but I’m not the type of competitive person who will get angry if I lose or focus solely on winning. I can enjoy the ride.

3) The singer is in Bangkok for an important tournament. He maintains that he doesn’t mind missing the sights and dismisses Bangkok is just another “crowded, polluted stinking town.” Do you find big cities exciting? Or do you think of them as noisy and dirty? I find them exciting, and I always have. I always feel really comfortable and kind of at home in cities, which is kind of odd because I lean more toward introverted homebody. I think I like the idea of there being a city full of things to do should I choose to take advantage of it.

4) Air pollution has reached serious levels Bangkok. Do you suffer from allergies, asthma or another condition that could be aggravated by pollution? Generally, no, but almost all summer up to now I’ve been stuffy and sneezy in the mornings.

5) To reduce traffic, commuters travel through Bangkok on ferries that make regularly scheduled trips up and down the Chao Phraya River. When was your last boat ride? I guess last fall, when I got a Groupon for a Gateway Clipper boat tour of Pittsburgh. Pretty much everyone who lives in the area has done it, probably, because it’s a quintessential school field trip, but my fiancé never had and I decided he must.

6) Round trip airfare between ATL and BKK is $1750. If we gave you a travel voucher for that dollar amount, how would you spend it? I’d probably go visit my cousin in El Paso.

7) The Holiday Inn Express in Bangkok has a McDonald’s onsite. When you go somewhere new, do you find it comforting to be surrounded by what’s familiar? Or would you prefer to try new things? I’m all about trying new things when traveling. Except in dire circumstances, I have a rule where I won’t eat at chain restaurants–unless it’s a chain specific to that area or they offer something different.

8) One of Bangkok’s most popular restaurants is DID, which stands for Dine in Dark. The dining room at DID is 100% light free — cell phones must be stored in the lobby to avoid distracting from the experience — so customers eat their four course meal without seeing it. This heightens the diner’s sense of taste and smell. When you prepare a meal, do you put a great deal of care into its presentation? Not at all. I might if I was cooking for someone other than myself or my fiancé, but as it is, neither of us cares.

9) Random question: Think about your last professionally prepared meal. Did you dine in, carry out, or have it delivered? It was Giant Eagle sushi, which I brought home.

Leave a Reply

