Saturday 9: If I Knew You Were Comin’

Saturday 9: If I Knew You Were Comin’ (1950)
 
Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.
1) This song is performed by a woman who is positively tickled to have unexpected company. How do you feel when people  drop by unannounced? In general, I don’t like it. I think it can be kind of rude because you never know what people’s plans are or even if they’re prepared to host people.

2) She is clearly proud of her skills in the kitchen. Do you enjoy baking? Cooking? I’m trying to learn to like it. I don’t do much baking, but I’m trying to cook more.

3) Reference is made to hiring a band. Tell us the last time you were at an event with live music. At a wedding last night!

4) After making recordings in the early 1950s, Eileen Barton appeared on daytime TV in the early 1960s — including a game show called Video Village. Let’s say we’re all headed to a TV game show taping this morning. Would you volunteer to appear as a contestant? Or would you rather just stay in the audience? Depending on the show, I might consider appearing as a contestant, but I’d mostly prefer the audience. I think being a contestant would make me too nervous.

5) In 1961, Ms. Barton got married in Juarez, Mexico. What’s the longest distance you’ve ever traveled to attend a wedding? Just a state over in Ohio.

6) In 1950, when this song was popular, the Detroit Red Wings won the Stanley Cup. Are you looking forward to the upcoming NHL season? Yes! Hockey is the only sport I like. And I really, really like it. Go Pens!

7) 1950 also marks the first time anyone in the United States paid by credit card. Do you pay with a credit card to get rewards? If yes, what rewards are you accumulating (points, cash back, airline miles)? I have a card that accumulates points, but I ran the balance up a decent amount one Christmas, so I’m trying to pay that off and avoid using it in the meantime. I have a second points card, too, that I got to finance a new computer with a promotional zero interest rate, but I’m avoiding using that until the balance from the computer is paid off. I’d rather only have that to worry about with the zero interest than anything else.

8) In 1950, an athlete named Florence Chadwick swam the English Channel. Are you a good swimmer? I mean, I won’t drown if I don’t have to go too far, so that’s got to count for something.
9) Random question: Think about the last “white lie” you told. Was it to spare someone’s feelings, or to make your day go more smoothly? My white lies are generally solely to spare feelings, and even at that, they’re rare. I’d even argue that occasionally, lying to spare someone’s feelings and to make your day go more smoothly are the same thing sometimes.
One thought on “Saturday 9: If I Knew You Were Comin’

Leave a Reply

