Booking Through Thursday: Recommend

Somebody walks up to you and says, “I need a really good book to read–any genre. What do you recommend?”

What’s the first book off the top of your head?

The “any genre” bit is great, because whenever someone asks for a recommendation, that’s the first thing I ask.

I don’t really have a go-to list of recommendations, partly because I don’t usually have something to recommend that people aren’t already at least familiar with. So I usually think of what I’m reading now or have read recently that really stood out, so going that way now and picking from the stack I’m currently reading, I’d recommend:

  • Bossypants by Tina Fey because it’s funny and a fun look at her career, especially SNL. Reading it now is particularly fun because in the midst of Donald Trump whining about Alec Baldwin’s impersonation of him, I’m reading about Tina Fey’s experiences impersonating Sarah Palin.
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot because it’s an interesting read not just from a scientific and medical standpoint, but also because of issues of race it raises.
  • His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman because for being considering a children’s series, it’s really dark and complex and fascinating.
Leave a Reply

