The opportunity for double overtime pay keeps coming up at work on weekends, so I keep taking it–most weeks, I’ve been able to squeeze in a few extra hours pretty easily, and the money is worth it. It’ll definitely be nice when we’re not so busy that we still need it, but for now, I’m taking advantage of it.

Meanwhile, the quest for a wedding dress continued. My mom and I stopped into a store near my apartment to try some on and I found a winner there, but I was set on it. So after a quick trip to the outlets and dinner, with a few days in between, I left from my parents’ house post-election with Kimmie to meet up with my mom for dinner and another round of dress shopping.

This time, it was a bigger shop run kind of similarly to the way you see on shows like Say Yes to the Dress, so we were paired with a consultant who pulled things for us based on pictures of things I already liked, and she helped me get in and out while Kimmie and Mom sat and watch and probably would’ve been just fine sitting and watching all day. There were a couple winners, but funnily enough, it was the last dress of the night–and one I didn’t expect to like much–that ended up being the dress. They even do the whole thing with putting a veil on you with a whole spiel about picturing your wedding day that turned Kimmie into a weepy mess, but my mom and I must be stone-cold bitches, because it didn’t work on us.

Mom suggested I take a day to sleep on it before committing, so I did, and I found myself excited about it and definitely ready to buy it the next day. Of course, I ended up stuck at work past the shop’s closing time and had to wait an extra day to actually call and officially order the thing, but I did just that and got measured for it and got it ordered yesterday.

It’s exciting, and I feel like I’ve made very, very little progress on planning lately, so it’s nice to have something definitively done and taken care of. I don’t really have to worry about it until it comes in in a few months, and in the meantime, I’m gonna stick to my plan of eating less shit and being more active.

Leave a Reply

