Saturday 9: Cabaret

Saturday 9: Cabaret (1972)

Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) In this song, Liza Minnelli encourages you to put down “the knitting, the book and the broom.” Which of those three were you most recently doing: knitting, reading or housework? Housework. Washed a couple dishes, unsuccessfully searched for a new credit card that I know came in the mail and needs activated.

2) She sings that we shouldn’t allow “some prophet of doom to wipe every smile away?” Do you know anyone who reliably looks at the downside of life? Not consistently, no. I know people who are going through some shit, though, and have every right to be less than optimistic.

3) In 1972, when this recording was popular, so was The Brady Bunch. In the two-part season premiere, The Bradys went to Hawaii. Do you have any warm weather vacation plans this fall/winter? Unfortunately, no. Holding off on travel until after more wedding planning is done and I have a better idea of how much I can realistically spend on a vacation.

4) Though not her uncle, just a friend to both of her parents, Liza always called  Frank Sinatra as “Uncle Frank.” Is there an older person in your life who isn’t a blood relative, but who refer to as “aunt” or “uncle?” Not so much anymore, but my godmother used to be “Auntie” Kimmie.

5) Liza collapsed onstage during a Christmas concert in 2007. She says she’d been nauseous before she went on and simply fainted. Sam has never fainted. Have you? No, but I’ve had some moments where I was really sure I would.

6) People are often surprised when they learn Liza is good friends with Gene Simmons — the KISS member with the long tongue. Tell us about one of your good friends. I mean, the one I talk to the most now and am the closest to is Terra, who I’ve known since high school. We’re both quiet introverted, opinionated vegetarians with weird senses of humor and a love of sci-fi and horror.

7) Liza told US Magazine that she loves to eat at Olive Garden. Do you? I do. If I could eat pasta every day, I would.

8) She keeps apple juice and yogurt in her refrigerator at all times. Would we find either in your refrigerator right now? Definitely yogurt, but no apple juice.

9)  Random question: Which would be a more frustrating dinner companion — someone who won’t shut up, or someone who won’t say a word? Someone who won’t shut up. They bother me more because you feel like they sort of dominate the whole situation and that you and others can’t get a word in. Plus I also like brief lulls in conversation. I get why people feel the need to keep things from going silent for too long, but a few moments of quiet are totally fine.

Leave a Reply

