Saturday 9: Baby’s in Black

Saturday 9: Baby’s in Black (1964)

Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.

1) Black is this week’s signature color because Friday, November 25, was “Black Friday,” when retailers cut their prices and consumers flock to the stores. Did you score any “Black Friday” bargains? Nope. I don’t go out for Black Friday, and I had to work anyway. I’ve been working a lot lately to take advantage of some overtime pay, so even though I had a short week, I was anxious to just relax. Black Friday shopping isn’t likely to provide that.

2) Feasting and football are also popular Thanksgiving weekend pastimes. Do your Thursday-Sunday plans include pigging out or watching a game? I did feast for the holiday, but I’m not a football fan. So no games. Except the hockey game I had on last night.

3) At Thanksgiving dinners, Crazy Sam’s homemade gravy is always a hit. (Probably because she’s so generous with the cognac, which gives the gravy a nutty taste.) What was particularly delicious at your Thanksgiving table? My mom made my grandma’s potato salad with a little tweak–she made the same recipe but with macaroni noodles instead of the potatoes. It’s a good solution for when we’re hungry for it but want to cut the prep time. It was delicious.

4) Among the biggest the Black Friday advertisers are Target, Kohl’s, Macy’s and Best Buy. If you could have a $100 gift card to any one of those stores, which would you choose? I’d be okay with any of them, honestly. They all have things I like/want/need.

5) This week’s song, “Baby’s in Black,” is about a girl who wears black because she’s in mourning. Do you find that the color you’re wearing reflects your mood? Almost never. I know some people dress to their mood, but I just pull out whatever’s closest.

6) The woman who inspired this song, Astrid Kirchherr, has been friends with Paul McCartney since he and his bandmates (John Lennon, George Harrison, Stu Sutcliffe and Pete Best) met her in Hamburg back in 1960. Tell us what youbelieve are the components of a strong, lasting friendship. Trust, honesty, respect, and just general compatibility. I don’t think people have to have the exact same interests and beliefs to have great friendships by any means, but not having anything in common or disagreeing a lot probably isn’t gonna go well. For the record, these are the same things I think make up lasting romantic relationships.

7) In the early days of the Beatles, Paul McCartney and John Lennon began writing a play but abandoned it. Do you have a novel, painting, play, song or poem that you’re going to finish “someday?” I’m a writer, so…story of my life.

8) When he was 16, George Harrison dreamed of moving to Canada, Australia or Malta. In just a few years, he would visit all those places with Beatles and eventually decided there was no place like home and stayed in England. Have you ever thought about moving to another country? If so, where? I kind of have, but I think there’s a tendency to romanticize life in other countries, so I’m not convinced it would truly be better. But I think I’d do well in Canada, Australia, or certain parts of Europe.

9)  Random question: Finish this sentence — If you want me to give you “yes” for an answer, the best time to approach me is _____________________. Just about anytime, as long as I’m not tired, hungry, or in a bad mood in general.

4 thoughts on “Saturday 9: Baby’s in Black

Leave a Reply

