Saturday 9: O, Holy Night

In the midst of wanting to catch up on these, I got sick and did nothing but sleep for a couple days. So here we go.
Saturday 9: O, Holy Night (1967)
Unfamiliar with this week’s tune? Hear it here.
1) This beloved carol takes its lyrics from a French poem. What else can we thank the French for? Their baking. I’d say all of their cooking in general, but I actually haven’t eaten much proper French food that wasn’t, like, dessert. But I’m sure it’s delicious.
2) How well do you know  “O, Holy Night?” Without looking up the lyrics, could you sing along with Ella? I could easily go through the first verse and probably be okay at the rest.
3) In order to get this record into stores in time for Christmas 1967, Ella had to record this in late July. So let’s reverse that. Now that it’s Christmastime, what do you miss most about summer? Long, sunny days and warm weather. Being able to wear little flat shoes–I hate being bundled up in boots at work all day when I’d much rather, like, be barefoot.
4) Sam is crazy about the open toed pumps she’ll be wearing to holiday parties, but that means she needs to get a pedi. Will you be at a salon between now and year-end? Well, I’m getting around to this so late that that year’s end has passed, but no. I have a weird thing about nails and I don’t think I’d like having them done.
5) Will you be consuming any egg nog this holiday season? And if you do, will it be spiked? I tried eggnog like once and did like it, but for whatever reason, it’s just not something I drink. But I’d probably go for a little if it was offered to me, spiked or otherwise.
6) Thinking of holiday cuisine, what’s your favorite Christmas cookie? It’s not a strictly Christmas cookie, but my grandma used to make these apricot cookies, and since she died several years ago, my aunt’s taken up making them and they’re pretty much guaranteed for Christmas.
7) Sam knows she will get a bottle of red wine from her boss, because that’s what he gives his staff every year. Is there a gift you can count on receiving? My mom the last few years has made an effort to get my brother and I stuff we need rather than getting us stuff that’ll just take up space in our small apartments, so whenever she asks what we want/need any given year, we can pretty much count on that. This year, it was a little scanner.
8) What one gift would you most like to receive this year? Do you think anyone will get it for you? There were some books I really wanted and actually mentioned to my mom as little things she could get when she asked, but I suspect she decided I have too many books as it is and skipped them. One of them was Carrie Fisher’s Princess Diarist, which no one got me, the bastards, so I went out and bought it myself like the next day. She died the day after that.
9) This time of year is big for charitable fundraising. Here’s your chance to plug a cause or organization that’s near and dear to you. I try to donate small amounts to a few charities throughout the year, and this year, after the extended family decided not to exchange gifts, my cousin Meri and I in particular talked a lot about making a bigger donation with the money we would’ve spent. I actually donated to my local NPR affiliate, WESA. I decided on them because reputable, accurate reporting is crucial these days, and NPR does it well. I posted a longer explanation over on Instagram.
Leave a Reply

