Now that the chaos of the holidays is behind us, Paul and I actually have time to do whatever the hell else we want. Of course, soon enough, this is going to be 90% wedding planning, or at least should be. But for now, we took a day to go to Phipps.

The original plan was to go Saturday, but with the threat of bad weather I don’t think we ever even got, we decided to stay in and made the trip Sunday instead. I would’ve loved to have stopped over around Christmas, actually, because they decorate it really beautifully, but seeing as we just barely made it to The Nutcracker, it wasn’t possible. We made it just in time for them to switch their exhibits over to orchids, which was still really nice. And thanks to a display on climate change, we came out of it with a fancy new green power company. And because I’m a sucker for damn soaps, I left with some of that, too. And almost a bonsai tree, but Paul talked me out of that since we’re thinking about moving.

I felt well enough to hit the gym, fortunately, and we ended up being there for nearly two hours, we think–we’re not totally sure. But of course, my immune system still doesn’t seem to be thrilled about that, because here I am three days later with a damn sore throat again. Fortunately, it’s not nearly as bad as it was before and DayQuil made it disappear for most of the day, but it’s still really frustrating and I’m still afraid to do much as long as it’s hanging around. The last thing I want is to end up back in MedExpress or calling off work again. Even though I have the days, I just really don’t want to have to use them again so soon, even if it’s totally justified.

Leave a Reply

