Friday 5: Hold on to the Knight

  1. When and how did you learn to play chess? I was a kid and my dad taught me, but beyond that, I don’t remember.
  2. How is your chess game? Terrible now because I haven’t played in years and I’ve forgotten how to play.
  3. When did you last find yourself in a stalemate? Maybe kind of with work. I’d like something new, but I haven’t had the time to look lately because of freelance opportunities and wedding planning. On top of that, my mom has advised me to stay put because we’re also looking for a house, so we obviously want a steady, reliable income, but on top of that, when we’re looking at home loans, banks are going to want to see that I’ve been employed at the same place for a long period of time.
  4. A gambit is a chess opening in which a player sacrifices a piece in hopes of gaining an advantageous position.  What was one of your recent, real-world gambits? I can’t think of one, but ask me again as we creep closer to my wedding.
  5. Which piece on the chessboard is most like you, and why? I really wasn’t sure, partly because it has been so long since I played, so I turned to trusty Internet personality quizzes to guide me. The verdict: Pawn. “You are a great team player. Sometimes people underestimate you, yourself included, but with the right kind of structure and support around you, you are a formidable opponent, never backing down, and bursting with hidden potential.”
Leave a Reply

