Saturday 9: Alone Again, Naturally

Saturday 9: Alone Again, Naturally (1971) 

Not familiar with this week’s song? Hear it here.

1. Friday was St. Patrick’s Day, March 17th! Did you celebrate with green beer or a green milkshake? I didn’t, but I did go out to eat at a local restaurant.

2. Did you remember to wear green? Again, I didn’t, but I did accidentally wear a turquoise-ish shirt.

3.  What color do you look best in? I don’t know what I look best in, but I wear a lot of dark colors and red.

4. This week’s featured artist, Gilbert O’Sullivan, was born in Waterford, Ireland. Waterford is famous for Waterford Crystal. Do you have glassware that you save for special occasions? Kind of? I have some wine glasses that are rarely used, and then I have a set of my grandma’s china, but I’ve never used it. It’s currently in my parents’ basement until I get a house.

5. This week’s featured song includes the line, “To think that only yesterday I was cheerful, bright and gay.” How were you feeling yesterday? Tired and lazy.

6. It begins with reference to a wedding that didn’t quite come off because the bride left the groom at the altar. When were you most recently at church? Was it for a holiday service, a regularly scheduled service, a special event (a wedding or baptism)? Regular Sunday mass, mostly so they’ll let me get married.

7. In 1971, when this song was popular, Malibu Barbie was a big seller for Mattel. This doll had a perpetual tan. For a human to achieve this, a tanning bed or self tanner is usually required. Have you used either method to give yourself a tan? I used to use self-tanner like in middle school, then stop caring somewhere in my teens. Been that way ever since, although I will lay out if I’m at a pool or beach. But that’s less about tanning and more about just enjoying the sun and sand.

8. In March, 1971, James Taylor appeared on the cover of TIME magazine. What’s your favorite James Taylor song? I don’t think I have one.

9. Random Question: What word or phrase do you hear yourself saying too often? Lots of cusses, mostly, and throwaways such as “like.” I also use “dude” as a throwaway.

One thought on “Saturday 9: Alone Again, Naturally

Leave a Reply

